April is Poetry Month

http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/poetry/poetry_engine.htm#

I used a free ‘writing engine’ from Scholastic today with my preschoolers.  We were talking about poetry, and haiku seemed to be something we could be able to do, especially since we’ve been working on syllables in words.  I used my laptop with my kids, but there is a way to use it with smart boards as well.  Not only does this ‘engine’ do haikus, but it also does limericks and free verse as well.  It would be a very good way to introduce poetry, especially with older kids.  I did have to help my preschoolers with it a bit, but I think older children would be able to create poetry on their own. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

